<< . now . >>
old . rings . quotes . random
mail . book . notes . profile . designs
politics . wishlist
host
worthy reads
anakinvader
apothocary
calliope1779
casca-73
chiara112
coldsunshine
crazya
dydrmblvr
greg-bob
gwyn-raven
john-boy
kellybutton
kilgoretrout
lesbianrobot
lunablossom
mikanie
oneechan19
opheliatl
peteypuke
princesslizabet
redqueenmeg
robin-smith
unclebob
xactlywhoiam
2003-06-15, 12:06 p.m. : arrgh arrgh arrgh

Stupid stupid seam allowances.

Stupid stupid tension settings.

Stupid stupid sewing machine.

In case you can't tell, the morning has not been going terrifically for me.

I don't even care if terrifically is a word or not.

See, I finally got around to working on the damn tent this morning about an hour ago.

I was doing alright, I suppose; one side has all four pieces attached, but the seams are only single-stitched; they need to be gone over again for strength and all that.

I ran out of bobbin thread so I went to replace it, and found out that the thread I'd been using both above and below was almost gone. No biggie, I thought, I'll just use the other heavy duty thread.

Apparently this was a mistake, because now the tension is even more screwed up.

Mom actually fixed it yesterday, and then I didn't get much done because I was fixing Greg's shirt and fixing my shirt, so that we would have things to wear. Because I thought that that would be nice.

So the fix didn't last very long, because it was actually screwing up before I'd finished sewing two (!) seams today.

Actually maybe before the first one. I'd have to go in the other room and look and I'm too pissed off right now.

I've been talking to Rachel-my-sister and thinking about this, actually, and I think I'm going to say "Screw you, Tent, I'll deal with you later when I'm not rushed for time and I can deal without wanting to tear out my hair, which I've been growing out and not dyeing for quite some time now. So neener." And then I'm gonna stick my tongue out at the heaps of fabric, because they SUCK.

Even if Mom comes home in the next three minutes and comes right upstairs and fixes it within the two minutes after that, I'm still not going to worry about it. I'm gonna finish Greg's shirt and pack up everything and then have a nice relaxing day, except that if I'm not working on the tent they'll probably make me paint shelves. But whatever.

The point is that the directions didn't think about how 60" fabric doubled-up is ten feet, until you sew it together and sew more stuff on the sides and take up an inch and a half every time you do that.

I mean, that's another six inches right there.

So while I'm not gonna worry about it right now, I'm not going to junk the idea, either. I'll just save it till I don't have eight hours to finish it.

(Tangent: Okay, so I like Kid Rock with Sheryl Crow's song "Picture" but this radio station is playing it WAY too often. And it's a really bad and pointless time edit. They cut out the guitar interlude and they cut out half of the ending. Wtf? I mean, I can understand blurring out "cocaine" but whatever, dude...)

We're gonna have to change some of the measurements to make it all fit, most likely. This kinda sucks.

I mean, I couldn't even find purple canvas.


<< . >>


Join my notify list to get updates when I update. It's about the only way at this point.

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com