<< . now . >>
old . rings . quotes . random
mail . book . notes . profile . designs
politics . wishlist
host
worthy reads
anakinvader
apothocary
calliope1779
casca-73
chiara112
coldsunshine
crazya
dydrmblvr
greg-bob
gwyn-raven
john-boy
kellybutton
kilgoretrout
lesbianrobot
lunablossom
mikanie
oneechan19
opheliatl
peteypuke
princesslizabet
redqueenmeg
robin-smith
unclebob
xactlywhoiam
2003-06-03, 7:31 p.m. : Yay for yummy coffee... now if only I had a job there

So.

I don't think I've updated recently.

I guess everybody goes through periods when they update all the freakin' time and then don't update for nearly a week at a time... if not a month or three... so I shouldn't be too worried about it.

It's not like last summer; hell, I actually have stuff going on all the time now.

Today, I started the roaming thing. This is where I'm still getting paid by SCES, but working for other departments that need the help but don't have any money.

In other words, I got to sort and shelve stacks of videos. Not terribly exciting, no. Decent exercise for an office job, though. That's for sure.

Got off work and Mom and I came home for lunch. At her insistence, we had the new McDonald's salads.

Mind you, I don't think I've actually willingly eaten McDonald's food but once, maybe twice since I quit there, over a year ago. So now I'm up to what, three times? Anyway.

They weren't too bad. Better than the McShaker things.

Took Mom to her haircut, and sat in the car and read; it really sucks that I'm almost halfway finished with book 2 of The Mallorean by David Eddings, and I have no idea if the public library has the next three. I know Greg has them, but I won't see him for almost two weeks (and it's really going to suck to have to wait that long). Hell, I don't know when the public library is even open. I probably ought to check that out. I don't know if I'll have time to pursue the reading which would invariably follow, however.

Dropped Mom off at work. On the way there, we saw where the coffee place is. It's just a little drive-thru kiosk on the side of Central (main road for the town). We both thought it was very cute. About a block later, Mom looked over at me and said "I want one!" in a suitably pitiful/pitiable voice.

On the way back, I stopped by, to see what was up, and to see if Pam, the owner, was there. Due to literary convention, of course, she had left just a few minutes earlier.

So I hung around and talked to the two ladies who were there (one is the manager/supervisor for the ED location), and also got free coffee because they wanted the practice. Twas fine with me. Really good coffee.

Waited for twenty minutes, maybe half an hour, before it became obvious that I needed to leave and get other stuff done. Went to Ace Hardware to get the paint for my bookshelves (yay for the pretty pretty purple), which took forever because the kid mixing it had been shown the wrong procedure. Or something. Took way too damn long, is what it was. Finally got the paint.

Brought it home, came inside, called the coffee lady Pam to see about the interview. No answer on the phone, just ringing and ringing and ringing.

I just noticed that when I'm kinda tired, like now, I get into a stream-of-consciousness style of writing. Poor grammar. Oh well. You're the one still reading. ;)

Decided to go back out to the coffee stand, on the premise that she'd show up there eventually. Sure enough, within a few minutes, first her husband showed up, and then she did.

So I got the interview, although I'm sorta worried that she'd think I was pushy, showing up and looking for her, and maybe she only did the interview because I was right there and it probably would have been considered rude to say "Actually, I don't need you, sorry you wasted your time, now bugger off." Especially with language like that. ;)

At any rate, she didn't hire me on the spot. So we don't know yet.

But I should know by Thursday...

and between then and now, I have three chapters in Sociology to read, fifteen pages for Reflexology, a lunch to make for tomorrow, clothes to pick out, water bottles to pack so I don't keel over of dehydration or anything ucky like that, diary templates for my sister so she can write her stories at d-x, talk to my boyfriend as much as I can, sleep as much as I can once I've gotten everything else done, keep working on my bookshelves (the dark paint looks really good, for the uprights, and I have absolutely nothing done for the shelves other than Dad's cut them out... they'll be "lavender sparkle"), trim to put on clothing for Lilies, Greg's cloak to make for Lilies (that's hopeful... but there's still almost two weeks... I know I took forever on my own cloak, but maybe I'll work faster on somebody else's), more clothing to make for Lilies so that the twins can come up to celebrate their birthday with twelve hundred of their closest friends they don't know yet as well as copious amounts of alcohol that stores have never heard of, find something to do to get ten bucks so I can send in my name and device to Laurel by Lilies... or maybe at Lilies... so that I'll be official and the only me there is, and remember to ask Greg if he wants me to put "Robert Hite" or "Robert Wolfkiller" inside his shirt so if he loses it (who knows why, but you never know) people will know that somebody specific owns it.

I guess not quite all of that will be happening in the next forty hours or so. But most of it should. Especially all that reading.

I guess once things cool down a bit, I'll be able to talk about things I've thought of, as opposed to just things that I've done.

Or maybe I'll just start updating at work. Lots of people do it. It'll give me something to do while I'm there. :)

Also, somebody send me an email to remind me to call the PSU health center, okay?

I need to start on that list.


<< . >>


Join my notify list to get updates when I update. It's about the only way at this point.

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com