<< . now . >>
old . rings . quotes . random
mail . book . notes . profile . designs
politics . wishlist
host
worthy reads
anakinvader
apothocary
calliope1779
casca-73
chiara112
coldsunshine
crazya
dydrmblvr
greg-bob
gwyn-raven
john-boy
kellybutton
kilgoretrout
lesbianrobot
lunablossom
mikanie
oneechan19
opheliatl
peteypuke
princesslizabet
redqueenmeg
robin-smith
unclebob
xactlywhoiam
2003-10-01, 1:04 p.m. : Despite the best-laid plans of mice and men, I'm still here. On a Mac, dammit.

I have to say it.

I hate Macs.

Well, sort of, anyway...

Let me put it this way. I think they're great for art projects, but the keyboard and the mouse just kill me.

For one thing, when I wrote "art" in the previous paragraph, it came out "宆".

Which looks cool, in a way.

But really annoying.


Then, with the mouse, there's that whole thing where it's MISSING A FREAKIN' BUTTON.

How'm I supposed to right-click if there's no right button?

Arrgh.


Yes, yes, I know that it wouldn't be all that hard to learn.

But I'm a creature of habit, much like my cat, and dammit, I've been using PCs for the majority of my life. Since I've had a color-capable computer. (There was the black-and-white, usable-for-word-processing-only Mac that Mom bought from some lady in our church, but it doesn't count, if only because I can't remember how to use it, either.)


In a somewhat related subject, I've decided that once I start making enough money that I can afford more than rent, bills, and a little bit of food, I'm going to build a modded computer.

I'm starting with deciding on what kind of case I want, since I figure that it'll probably end up being the cheapest thing, at least to start with.

Right now, I'm thinking that either the old TV Mom's keeping in the basement, the one that's nearly as old as I am, or maybe a metal filing cabinet would be fun.

If I took out the screen on the TV, and put in a sheet of plexiglass or something, and put the CD etc. drives in next to them, or something? I dunno. But it already has fan vents in the casing, so that would save me some time...

Ah hell, I'll get around to it when I get around to it.


Rachel from Kentucky... I haven't seen or talked to her in a while. She stopped working in the mornings. Apparently her brother, who's been on�his way toward dying for at least the last year, is on the last few steps of that journey. Shawn from upstairs brought a card around this morning for when he goes, but as Sharon said, it's kind of weird to sign a card saying "Sorry your brother died" when he's still alive.


I finally called the lady from JCPenney's today, with a story concocted about how my long-distance phone service has been screwed up and I haven't been able to call anybody.

Only it turns out that she's on vacation right now.

Go figure! Or as my sister says, fo gigure.

So I'm gonna try to remember to call again on Monday. And maybe I'll get another job, so that I don't have to deal with Sharon being such a *#&($ to me so much.


I had two Anatomy and Physiology tests last week, one for lecture and one for lab. I amazed and surprised myself by getting a B on the lab test, but rather more as expected flunked the lecture test. Not by a whole lot; there's an assignment that will raise your grade by ten points, and that'll turn it into a high D. But still. Kind of sucks. That's what I get for not paying attention in class, not studying, and not knowing what the fcuk I was doing. Who'd'a thunk it?


In less scattered news, I have been doing fairly well overall.

My kitten is named Molly, because Devil's Dance Floor was playing when I was trying to think of a name.

I have somewhat named Greg's kitten Kawa, short for Kawasaki (she has a strange fascination with crotches, hence, CrotchRocket) as well as short for kawaii, since she's adorable.

Unfortunately, she's also kinda sick. Her back legs are always spazzing out, and her stomach is really bloated. Also, her sister (Molly) is fighting over the food, so it's possible she's not eating very much, and the bloat is an even worse sign than if she is.

So Greg's taking her back to the vet again tomorrow, and hopefully she'll be getting better soon.

They're eight weeks old right now, and I figure in another two weeks or so, they'll be big enough that I can let them out into the rest of the apartment, and they won't be at so much risk from Wills.


Another annoying thing about Macs I'd forgotten was the way the mouse disappears when you start typing.


So I'm gonna try to go find out how all my lovers... I mean, all my online friends are doing.

Yeah, that's it. Surely.


<< . >>


Join my notify list to get updates when I update. It's about the only way at this point.

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com