<< . now . >>
old . rings . quotes . random
mail . book . notes . profile . designs
politics . wishlist
host
worthy reads
anakinvader
apothocary
calliope1779
casca-73
chiara112
coldsunshine
crazya
dydrmblvr
greg-bob
gwyn-raven
john-boy
kellybutton
kilgoretrout
lesbianrobot
lunablossom
mikanie
oneechan19
opheliatl
peteypuke
princesslizabet
redqueenmeg
robin-smith
unclebob
xactlywhoiam
2003-07-28, 11:01 p.m. : Why is it that whenever you solve one problem, a dozen more crop up in its place?

Okay, so I've been really bad with updating lately... but a lot of other shit's been going on, so I have an excuse. So neener. :P

I have an apartment! Yay! I even know the address already! It's in the same building as Rachel, so if you're somebody like Lizabet and you already have her address, just change it to #108 instead of #307.

If you don't have my sister's address, and you would like my address, drop me a line and we'll see what we can do.

I don't know what my phone number will be yet. I haven't called to set that up. But I did manage to call up Westar/KGE to set up my electricity billing and stuff. So that's good.

The walls in the living room and both bedrooms (yes, I got a very sweet deal on a two-bedroom, but I'm poor and I'm probably going to need a roommate anyway, so if you read this, you're going to PSU, you don't smoke, and you don't mind cats, let me know if you want to set something up... especially if you're gonna pay your bills on time, Wink wink) are pretty nasty right now, with marks and fingerprints and the like all over them. Made them all dingy, not the white that they were originally.

Chuck, the manager, said that there's a crew currently painting and fixing balconies and the like, so he'll try to have them paint the living room... but he doesn't think he's going to be able to persuade them to paint either of the other two rooms. On the other hand, if I want to paint them, he will provide the paint for it.

And then, just for the hell of it, I asked him about painting the walls a different color (Lavender, for instance). He said that as long as the apartment was in its original condition when I left, he saw no reason not to give me back my full deposit.

Well, I say original condition. But it could be better than original condition. I probably won't be required to re-fingerprint the walls. Or pour more ink into the carpet.

Unfortunately, something that would drastically improve the kitchen would end up eating up a chunk of my deposit - painting the cupboards. They're stained very dark, and it would be nice to brighten up the kitchen. Paint them white, or some other pastel-y color of some kind. But I really don't know how to do that and not have them stay that way when I leave... unless I replace them and keep the old ones around. But that would be more expensive, and I'm poor, dammit.

The countertops and stove are yellow, too. That really hideos 1970's greenish vomit yellow. That's even worse than a normal yellow. >.<

*thinks a moment*

So... right now, Rachel has my dining room table; Greg has my dishes, including glasses and stemware (purple wine-style glasses! Yay!) but no silverware; my bed, nightstand, boxes of stuff from living in the dorms, and computer are all in El Dorado; I don't have enough money to pay my rent; and I don't have a couch, living room table, bookshelves, desk, chairs, or enough lamps.

I also need some end tables, or something like that, so I have someplace to put my fans. Because it's really freakin' hot in Kansas right now, and it's cheaper to use fans to augment your A/C than to blast it.

Hmm... I also need good light-blocking curtains.

Toilet paper.

Other shower stuff.

I need to have Greg fix my bike.

I REALLY need a job.

Speaking of which, for once, I'm working an eight-hour day tomorrow. In Andover, instead of in El Dorado. I get to put flyers in bookstore shopping bags.

Now that's just a riot, let me tell you.

*sighs*

And right now, I'd like nothing more than to go to sleep and wake up tomorrow and have it be Saturday, and while I'm at it let's have me find another table or three, a couch, or for gods' sake, at least a couple of chairs.

Although my mother thinks it might be nice to give me our dining room chairs that we've had for a long time, although one of them needs some repair, so she can buy a matching set in a much nicer style for herself.

I need things like sheets and blankets, picture hangers, a water filter that isn't broken (stupid window), a file cabinet, all that kind of stuff that you never think about until you're really going to be living on your own, and not just in the dorms.

And looking over at the dresser that I think Mom wants to give me, I think it needs to be painted...


<< . >>


Join my notify list to get updates when I update. It's about the only way at this point.

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com